A DREAM FOR AN OLD AGE HOME

I always wonder why do children leave their parents and start living separately. The parents who work hard to provide their children every facility they haven’t got. Sometime I feel like building a home for the people who have got no place to live, those who are betrayed by their children, those who got separated by the loved ones. Those elderly people in our society are meant to be loved by you, me and everyone else. Even a thought of leaving my parents at any point of time in my life will be the worst thought ever. I remember when was coming back to Delhi from Goa, after a fabulous vacation with my friends, I met an old man. Wrinkled face with heartwarming smile, I had an hour-long conversation with him about what he does for his living and what is the reason behind the life he is living. It literally made me burst into tears; I actually felt the pain he was in for last many years. His son is an owner of liquor shop in Faridabad and earns well.

A poor father of a rich son’

I was so into his life that I didn’t even thought of asking his name. All I am aware of is that he resides in Agra with his wife under a shelter costing 1000 bucks a month and the landlord was the only caretaker, who helps them with some hot water and a bit of ‘Seva’. Uncle sings bhajans in trains for his living, he doesn’t beg and earns around 200 bucks a day with the talent he has. His voice gave me Goosebumps, so heartening, so melodious that one cannot express their feelings through words. No lies, I gave him 30 bucks and food I was carrying with me and yeah he asked for water though. I actually shared his sorrows and made him feel a bit lighter, he cried he smiled, he was actually trying to hide what he had gone through. After that I helped him with his luggage and asked him where he is going right now and got a reply ‘Faridabad, just to see my son’, he smiled at me, he gave me blessings and he walked towards another coach. The only thought which didn’t let me sleep was to build a home for these people where they don’t have to pay a single penny and they can live a good life then to be on streets, walking and having guilt of being left.

I know it’s not an easy job to build a home even for our family but there is a saying; ‘Where there is will, there is a way’. The day I see myself at some good designation with a good salary, I will build a home for the parents who are left alone in this cruel world to die and I want to be the reason for their happy life.

Karan Arora.

Leave a comment